Barred Owl


I am a barred owl whose skill is to hunt.
Like night-light vision and soulful brown eyes,
I can search from high in a darken sky.
In a dash and swoop, my prey I confront.

By day, I rest and snooze within a tree.
If I’m awakened by an unknown sound
With eyes wide open, I look all around.
my head turns to all sides so I can see.

Owl with open beak.jpg

Photo and poem by me (Richard Smith)

Photo was taken with a Sony A77II, Sony lens 70-400mm, ISO 3200, 400mm, f/7.1, 1/1000 of a sec. Location: Nolan Trail, Newport News, VA 4/21/17

 

2 thoughts on “Barred Owl

  1. dawne April 25, 2017 / 1:20 pm

    I need to get over to the Nolan Trail and look for this guy soon – Thanks for the wonderful picture

    Like

  2. 1kayaker April 25, 2017 / 2:12 pm

    I am glad you enjoy the pic

    Like

Comments are closed.