Unconditional Love


leo.jpg

A month ago (June 23) I wrote a post titled “My dog is a friend and companion” This is an update to that post.  My friend and companion, who I knew all his life, 13 years finished the race before me. The last few weeks for him was down-hill.  As with most elderly, he’d like to take several naps each day and only get up for some water and when time to eat.  When he needed to go out to do his business, it was a slow task for him to walk to the door.   In the last two weeks he’d look up to me as if to say I need help to the door.  I’d pick him up and stroke his back as I walked with him in my arms to the door.  I’d stand there and watch him.  His skinny little legs barely kept him standing.  When he finished, I’d go out and bring him back in. He’d sit on my lap as I watched television.  When it was time for bed, we’d both get up, our stiff and aching joints made both of us move slowly to our bed.  This past weekend he couldn’t get up.  Earlier in the year we took him to the vet, tests showed a high elevated liver count.  The vet said it could be cancer and at his age it would only be a matter of time. I took him back to the Vet hospital on Monday.  The vet examined him and said it is best he be euthanized. He wasn’t in pain, but he lost all his strength and energy and lost half of his normal weight.  I thank God for these 13 years we had together.   Our dog, Leo, gave me and my wife unconditional love.  Leo was a pet who was raised and trained with unconditional love also.  
Companion
Frail

8 thoughts on “Unconditional Love

  1. myblogforlife1 July 28, 2016 / 6:58 am

    I’m so sorry about Leo. It’s. Never easy to lose our beloved fur babies. Having to make that choice, even when you know its the best one, doesn’t make it hurt less. My heart is broken for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. eschudel July 28, 2016 / 9:01 am

    I’m so sorry for your loss. It sounds like he had a wonderful life, and I know you will miss him a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. whippetwisdom July 28, 2016 / 11:10 am

    We are so sorry for your loss. Leo had a wonderful life with you and will be smiling at you from heaven. Much love to you all xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Acire July 28, 2016 / 11:52 am

    I’m so sorry for your loss. He sounds like a fantastic dog

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Terri Webster Schrandt July 29, 2016 / 11:43 am

    Oh this is so sad to read, but unfortunately inevitable for our fur-babies. I’m sure this was difficult to write. You and Leo had a wonderful life together. It is too bad we can’t get more time with our pets. My dog Aero, by my calculations will likely be gone in 9-10 years, and it already bothers me! My dog, Oreo, went to that Rainbow Bridge, but the guilt I felt about how he died still bothers me, even after writing 3 posts about it. I got a lot of solace in reading this book: Cold Noses at the Pearly Gates by Gary Kurz. My belief is that we all will see our dogs again one day, in eternity. Blessings and peace to you!

    Like

  6. bedlamanddaisies July 29, 2016 / 5:53 pm

    I’m sorry for your loss. Our pets mean so much and are gone too soon.

    Like

  7. 1kayaker July 29, 2016 / 5:54 pm

    I agree. Thank you for your comforting words

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.