My dog is a friend and companion


Companion

leo.jpg

During my seven decades plus, I had to see two of my pets pass on.  I said “I can’t do this again”. But I lied to myself. At my elderly age I still wanted a dog.  A dog that would out live me. I figured out my average life span and looked for a dog whose dog life would be a little longer than mine. I took in all factors other than accidental death. Thirteen years ago I got a toy poodle pup. I was still frisky and active, as was he. We have grown old together. I relate to his aching muscles, sore joints and frequent naps. We no longer take those youthful long playful walks.  Our stride is short and somewhat staggering. Now we slowly creep through life. I lost a few teeth as he also, I have sagging skin, his no longer has that youthful tone. My hair is grey as his once jet black is now a dull grey. Each day he weakens.  I feel I may see my friend and companion go before me. If so, its been an elderly pleasure to age together.

 

 

7 thoughts on “My dog is a friend and companion

  1. meanderingmav June 23, 2016 / 3:29 pm

    This is a very touching blog post, thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. DailyMusings June 23, 2016 / 5:37 pm

    ❤ this is just beautiful. There is nothing like the companionship of a dog

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tabby June 28, 2016 / 12:04 pm

    I too miss all the pets that God has Bless in my life! They are great companions, that allows you to cry & hug on them!

    Like

  4. 1kayaker June 28, 2016 / 12:10 pm

    They are great listeners. When I write a poem or article, I will read it out loud to my dog. His tail wags with excitement, as though he has given me his approval. There are times he tilts his head, makes eye contact with me as if to say is that all.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. bayphotosbydonna July 2, 2016 / 6:06 pm

    A dog truly is man’s best friend. When life is down, that soft head that rubs your hand or that gentle lick of the tongue or that inquisitive caring face & eyes can melt your soul and make you feel loved. May you both have many, many more happy days together, Richard. Take care of you and him!

    Like

  6. 1kayaker July 2, 2016 / 6:09 pm

    Thank you so much for those beautiful and encouraging words

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.