A sonnet poem


Once a month at a local coffee shop, they open their doors to a poetry open mic session.  The prompt for July is write a poem of our favorite letter of the alphabet. This is my first attempt at an open mic for poetry.  Before I read my poem I thought I’d put it out in the blog-a-fear for comments and likes.  Here is my sonnet.

I am a letter, not just any letter

I am special, consonants and vowels I lead

Alphabet of twenty six is my need

Alone, I help the sentence sound better.

 

My friends b through z have personal names

Such as bravo, charley, delta, and more

It’s a gender thing, mighty to adore

Masculine names clarify, so they claim

 

I trust by now you know your a b c’s

It is easy to know, who leads the pack

All my clues leave you the best to believe

Take a guess or do you need to go back

I am destine to triumph and succeed

I am A, the ah, ey of the sound track

 

Comments are welcomed
Criticism is accepted
Thank you for the like

4 thoughts on “A sonnet poem

  1. 1kayaker June 21, 2016 / 10:38 am

    Your are correct !!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.