A Dogs’ Apology


My wife and I were dog sitting.  Our friend, in the military, got orders for a six-month deployment and we promised to watch Sebastian.   Sebastian is a six-year-old lhasa apso.

One morning my wife left Sebastian out in the yard to do his morning routine.  After 5 minutes, she opened the door and called for Sebastian.   No Sebastian, my wife was worried, thoughts came to her mind; how will I explain this to Sebastian’s master that he had run away.  She clapped her hands and kept calling his name.  Finally, his little white hair body appeared from the neighbors yard, his tail tucked between his legs and his little pug face bowed to the ground.

With one hand on her hip and the other hand pointing a finger at him.  My wife cried out to Sebastian “You better get in this house. Just what have got to say for yourself”?   Sebastian slowly lifted up his head, his big round black eyes looked at my wife.  At that point, she knew what Sebastian would say:

I am sorry about this morning.  I know you were very worried and upset.  I don’t know what happened to me.  The morning was clear and crisp.  I was so focused on the birds singing it just put me in a playful mood.  The air was finally fit to breathe.  I could smell things from a greater distance.   There was this scent filtering through the air that lifted me right off my feet.  I could feel myself being carried off to a far away place. I know you know that feeling. I have seen you focus on a TV show or read a book.  You don’t hear anything around you.  That was how it was with me.  Then I heard hands clapping and my name being called.  I looked around.  I was really scared nothing looked familiar.  I knew your voice.  I ran towards the sound then it stopped.  I didn’t know which way to turn.  I was so scared I pee’d on some pretty flowers.  Finally, I smelled something familiar and I followed the scent and it led me home.  I was so excited when I saw you, but I knew the tone in your voice I was in a lot of trouble.  I hope you will forgive me.  I know I will be punished and I deserve it.  Thank you for your love for me.

Comments are welcome

Apology

8 thoughts on “A Dogs’ Apology

  1. franciscocamacho2016 February 28, 2016 / 7:18 pm

    Beautiful dog.! Very cool.! Beautiful picture.!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. athling2001 May 21, 2016 / 10:27 am

    And some people believe animals have no soul or emotion or thoughts. My cats know when they have done wrong. They might not give a darn, but they know!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Mike May 22, 2016 / 12:26 pm

    That’s a great post… Loved it, especially the part where he’s seen that look in their eyes while watching TV or reading a book. Kudos!

    Like

  4. Celestial May 31, 2016 / 11:51 am

    I love this! We do this so often to one another when we get distracted by the beauty (or pain) of life. Great read#

    Like

  5. 1kayaker May 31, 2016 / 1:08 pm

    Thank you for commenting

    Like

Comments are closed.