Stroll down memory lane


Stroll down memory lane

Back in the late 50’s a dance craze called the stroll which added a new style of dance for the teenagers.  The name of the song is The Stroll, written by Clyde Otis and Nancy Lee.

The stroll was somewhat like today’s line dance.  In the dance, two lines of dancers, men on one side women on the other face each other, moving in place with the music. Each pair of the couples step out and does a more elaborate dance up and down between the rows of dancers.  When it was me and my girl friends’ turn to stroll, I’d strut down the line like I was the rooster in charge.

The Stroll.jpg

The clothes we wore as we strolled to that slow rock’n’roll dance was the latest fashion in that decade the girls wore full skirts and stiff petti coats, or a super slim skirt and sweater with bows an bobby sox;  or tight fitting pedal pushers or capri pants.  I wore slim fitting dungarees with the cuffs rolled up to my ankle, shirt with the collar up in the back or some times I’d wear a tee shirt tucked into my dungarees. My shoes were penny loafers. My hair was slicked back and laid high on my head.

I know some of you reading this wasn’t born yet in the late 50’s.  As a teen at that time the stroll was the dance craze in the United States. I’m not sure how popular the stroll was in other countries at that time.

I am always pleased to read your comments

Stroll

7 thoughts on “Stroll down memory lane

  1. Thank you but I can’t take credit for the photo. I found the photo on the Internet without a source. I thought it would go well with the article I wrote.

    Like

  2. Sounds thrilling,…the slick hair combed back, and the style of clothes…wonder if the fashion will return. Those were the Elvis and Cliff days!

    Like

Comments are closed.