Daily Prompt: Faraway


Faraway is a word difficult to visualize its definition.  I remember when I’d take a trip with my parents I’d ask them how long will it be before we are there?  My dad would say, “20 more miles.”   At that age of 8 to 11 years old, I had no idea how far is 20 miles.

Faraway is like a football player intercepts the football on the opposing team 20- yard line.  He needs to run 80 yards to get the touch down.  80 yards is not far, but if you have 10 big guys chasing you it is faraway.

Like the word time, it is not always determined by seconds, minutes, or hours.

As my wife prepares a desert and she knows I am not a cook.  I ask, “when will the cookies be ready” I get the answer, “as soon as the dough rises and I still have to bake it.”  I am right back where I started.

How is the distance of faraway measured?

Comments are welcome

Faraway

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Faraway

  1. myblogforlife1 April 7, 2016 / 12:46 am

    Brilliant post! I chuckled at the cookie comment your wife gives you! Please tell me you know cookie dough doesn’t have yeast therefore it doesn’t need to rise!

    You are right it should been bread thank you. I enjoyed your comment

    Like

  2. calensariel April 7, 2016 / 1:56 am

    What an interesting question. One that would SEEM apparent, but I’ve never heard anyone ask it before. Intriguing.

    Like

Comments are closed.