Handwriting: A personal touch


When I read a typed or text message, the characters in the letter are static, I don’t feel that personal touch. So many people send boiler-plated or copy and paste information.  Even on the computer or smartphone, people will try to make it personal by pasting emoji and symbols (smiley face, sad face etc.).

In a handwritten note or letter I can feel a friend express their personality, a friend may write they feel good or are happy. I seem to read between the lines as they say, it is how the hand writing appears.  If the writer’s letters are tight, light, bold or the way they slant, if the words drift up or down on the paper. All this indicates to me the emotions of that friend.  I don’t intentionally analyze the hand written letter.  it is instinctive to me.  Other than reading for the content of a letter, do you see the expression that is shown through the hand written letter?

It may take longer for a person to receive that hand written note or letter but, it is that personal feeling that is in the handwriting.

Handwriting

4 thoughts on “Handwriting: A personal touch

  1. any1mark66 April 2, 2016 / 12:31 pm

    The lost art of personal touch. A handwritten note is a rarity. But also a calling from a simpler time.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Bernard Shuford April 2, 2016 / 10:12 pm

    I love love love handwritten notes. Especially now that they are so rare.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. calensariel April 3, 2016 / 12:55 am

    I absolutely agree. I’m an avid letter writer. And pretty long winded! LOL I have one friend I write back and forth with in Edwardian-era English. It’s a hoot!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.