Red headed woodpecker; a bird in flight


Below is a photo of a red-headed woodpecker.  My goal is to photograph each species of woodpeckers within my community.  I have four out of six.

This red-headed woodpecker was an unusual surprise.  I am accustomed to seeing a woodpecker pecking the trunk of a tree in search of food.  This woodpecker decided it is easier to swoop and fly for that parcel of food.   He flew in, turned sideways picked up the bread and flew off.  It was a touch and go maneuver.

Your comments are welcomed

5 thoughts on “Red headed woodpecker; a bird in flight

  1. bikurgurl March 21, 2016 / 2:15 am

    Loving this! I’ve never seen a woodpecker stop for food in a ‘people’ place – what a great catch!

    Like

  2. bayphotosbydonna March 21, 2016 / 7:23 am

    Great photos! I too have never seen a woodpecker go to the ground like this for food. Well done!

    Like

  3. 1kayaker March 21, 2016 / 7:48 am

    Thank you I appreciate you taking time to view my post and to comment

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cathy W March 21, 2016 / 8:01 pm

    Nice capture! I love your goal of photographing each of the 6 woodpecker species in your community. What fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Eileen On March 22, 2016 / 2:20 am

    I’m a bit of a list maker too so I agree with Cathy W – it’s fun to have a goal to get all 6!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.