what are the five items you must have on a deserted island?


Five Items

 

My five items I must have are with me at all times.

I need to have vision.  Without knowing what is around me is a frightening situation.  Sometimes it is still frightening to know what surrounds me.  Now don’t get me wrong, there is a lot of beauty to be seen on a deserted island.

I need taste.  Without taste it is dangerous.  I thirst for water.  I kneel down at the pond near the middle of the island.  I fill my cupped hand with water, not knowing if it is salt water or fresh water.  As with the plants on the island, I wouldn’t know if the plant is extremely spicy, bitter, or unpleasant.

Touch is to feel.  What are those strange leaves?  The pointed sides scratched my skin and put a blistery rash on my arms.   The insect I stepped on left a barb in my foot.  Without feeling, my odds of survival are low.  Not able to feel is a threat to life.

What is that sound?  A strange animal with fangs long enough to pierce through me.  If I can’t hear, I can not prepare for my defense.

The last is a smell. I wouldn’t know there is toxic waste near the end of the island or know the warnings of something burning.  I could suspect something is wrong when I see dead fish or smoke, but I would smell them initially.

To answer this classic question:  what are the five items you must have on a deserted island?  I must have my five senses that God blessed me with.

  1. Sound
  2. Taste
  3. Touch
  4. Sight
  5. Smell

With those 5 I will have the wisdom to apply the knowledge to survive as man survived in the beginning of time.

